Our History

Leadership Timeline

Our Leadership

Meet the CEOs and their administrative colleagues who have helped guide CoxHealth to success.

Leadership Milestones


Late 1940s 
Eighteen leaders of Protestant denominations are appointed to the hospital’s board of directors. Springfield business man Lester E. Cox leads a series of capital campaigns to raise community money and federal matching funds for hospital expansion.


Lester E. Cox passes away and the board of directors renames the hospital Lester E. Cox Medical Center, in honor of the man so integral to the hospital’s survival and growth. Hospital expansion continues under the guidance of his son, Lester L. “Bud” Cox, and longtime administrator, Neil Wortley. 


After 20 years of service, Charles Edwards becomes executive administrator. 


Lester E. Cox Medical Centers becomes CoxHealth Systems.

Charles Edwards retires as executive administrator and Larry Wallis is named CEO. 

Dec. 17, 1993

Lester L. “Bud” Cox passes away and his son Lester B. “Barry” Cox is named chairman of the CoxHealth Systems board. 


July 2004
Larry Wallis retires as president and CEO. 

August 2004 
Robert Bezanson becomes president and CEO of CoxHealth. 


April 2011 
Genice “Genny” Maroc is named vice president and administrator of Cox Monett Hospital. 

August 2011 
President and CEO Robert H. Bezanson announces his retirement, effective Dec. 31, 2011. 

September 2011 
Steve Edwards is named president and CEO, effective Jan. 1, 2012. 

September 2013 
Dr. Lance Ratcliff is named president of Cox College, following the retirement of Dr. Anne Brett. 

June 2015
Dr. Darren Bass is named president of Cox Monett Hospital. 

January 2018
William Mahoney is promoted to system senior vice president leading the Community Hospital Group while maintaining his role as president of Cox Medical Center Branson. 

Darren Bass is promoted to system vice president in the Community Hospital Group, and continues to serve as president of Cox Monett Hospital. 

Wendy Duvall is named president of Cox Barton County Hospital.


May 2022

Max Buetow is named president and CEO, effective May 30, 2022.

June 2022

Andrea McKay is named president of Cox Monett Hospital.

medicalbag Find a Physician calendar Make An Appointment location View Locations